inferentialkid

Web Projects

In Uncategorized on December 9, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Please post a link to your web project (and the text of your short description of same) as comment below before midnight, Dec 12.

TEST

  1. http://professormooty.wordpress.com/

    Bar none, this has been the most worth-while assignment I have ever had to complete at Wayne. As most know through class discussions, I did not have a Website prior to this class, so I started with WordPress—based on class comments—and then watched a variety of Youtube tutorials to learn the content. Along the way, I also became hooked on Youtube videos, I had NO IDEA that they could be informative; I just thought they were mostly childish or entertainment. That’s where I began, and this is what I ended up with: http://professormooty.wordpress.com/ I have played with several templates, and I’m not sold on this one yet, but I liked the weather-related theme. I have four pages:
    1. Course documents: I have posted a class syllabus and turnitin.com requirements (along with a hyperlink to the turnitin.com Website).
    2. Essays: The essay schedule posted along with the compare/contrast assignment, a photo, and a sample “A” paper. I envision updating this site for each essay assignment.
    3. Journals: In the past I have had graded, white paper essays due every other week. I would then carefully read each essay and then make comments in the margins—“great paragraph,” “good idea,” “nice approach”… along with noting the occasional grammar errors. In the spirit of Dr. Pruchnic’s class, I’ve modified this assignment. Students will be responding via a comments section and the students will receive a mid-term and final grade on these assignments based on overall content and English skills. Also under the journals, I have written the Journal 3—which wouldn’t be until week 5—regarding a response to Robert Frost’s, “The Road Not Taken.” I mention this, because I was able to learn how to make it private, and I included a photo and link to a site that the poem could be read to the student. I found that very cool!
    4. MLA: This page is a work-in-progress. How many times do we have to show the students how to format the margins and double space, etc. I found one Youtube video on how to format, and I will find others – or links – regarding Works Cited formats.

  2. Here’s my site: http://www.csdfreelance.com. But, for quicker access to the famous advertorials, go here: http://www.csdfreelance.com/advertising.htm.

    This website, csdfreelance.com, is a web presence that I have had since February of 2007. Initially, it was designed as an information and portfolio site for my freelance writing, editing, and proofreading business, CSD Freelance LLC. Because the platform was already designed and tested, for this project I decided to keep the original site with a few alterations to tailor it to reflect my new academic pursuits. Aside from changing the information on the “index” page and the “about” page to reflect my new role as a student and GTA at WSU, the two major changes to the site are to the “Vita” page and the “Academic Blog” page.

    Originally, the “Vita” button on the side bar read “Experience” and linked to a page where a PDF file of my professional resume could be downloaded. Now the button links to a page where both my professional resume and my academic CV (once I have something to put on it) can be downloaded in PDF format. The former “Links” page which linked to former clients and business associates has now been converted to a link to a blog that I set up at WordPress.com (cshawdraves.wordpress.com). This blog, in the future, will be utilized as another space for academic discourse and exploration.

    It is my hope that I can retain the usefulness of the website as a marketing tool for my freelance business (for summer work, etc.) while also continuing to incorporate my academic life and pursuits. If this proves too difficult, I will eventually split the sites and keep one for academics and one for freelance.

  3. For the “web presence” project, I created a sort of meta-site in order to organize the blogs, virtual resume, and class sites that I maintain. Taking a cue from the website that McGinnis created earlier this year, I made all of my web work accessible from one cleaner and more refined space:

    galvaticus.wordpress.com (or just click “jargoncomputer,” as it should take you there)

    I also took the liberty of putting my resume online. I know that I’m a long way off from the hiring process but I thought it would be helpful to get some experience creating a curriculum vitae (You can access this information from the other website I created).

    P.S. I intend on exchanging the picture on the galvaticus website with a more professional one.

    (Derek Risse)

  4. Hamtramck Cyber Writer’s – Creative Inklings Summer Camp Website

    http://hamtramckcyberwriters.pbwiki.com/

    The website that I have created is the companion site for the summer camp that I am developing for the high school aged children (grades 10-12) that attend school in the Hamtramck Public School system. The students that we will be serving are motivated individuals with a strong interest in writing.

    The site serves several purposes. The frontpage is informational. It houses the mission of the camp, schedule of activities, and links the user to specific information for each day, links to writer resources, links to the online writer’s notebooks that the students will be using, links to published materials composed by the staff members and campers, links to news stories published about the previous camps (elementary and middle), and links to the collaborative writing zone.

    The schedule offers a breakdown of what each day of the camp will entail. By clicking on the day, another link will open with the schedule and more details and links about the activities planned for those times. Handouts, lecture notes, and pictures will be posted on these pages as the days progress. Campers will use the pages during lab time for finding directions to assignments and places for posting. They will also use these pages for planning their weekly goals and their Writing Marathon to the Detroit Institute of the Arts.

    The collaborative writing page on the site offers four tasks. The first is to write a silly song. There are two sample videos from You Tube loaded, along with the task description. Campers will use the link to go to another page to find the song topic (student drivers). The second project is a chain story. The third is about cut-ups and offers links to information on Burroughs and a poem to get started with. The fourth page is reserved for riddles.

    The writer’s notebook sections are reserved for private writing in a public space. Campers will have their own sections of the site for brainstorming, listing, and drafting new stories and poems. These will be available for reading by the public, but only editable by the camper and his/her mentor (teacher). There is a sample camper site for modeling.

    The writer’s links offer a place for campers to read writing tips from published authors. They can explore writer’s tools and find tips for improving their own writing. There is information on plot and character development there. Here is where the campers can find what authors recommend doing with writer’s notebooks.
    The site offers a place for students to become accustomed to online publishing (a skill they will use in their postsecondary education) while honing their digital literacy. They will be able to share their work with their community, parents, and peers. Finally, the campers will find that writing applies to more than just the classroom assignment, but means more when it serves a purpose other than the grade.

  5. My professional web presence is designed to host a combination of original and ongoing material. For example, it currently serves largely as an archive of my other web sites or sites in which I have participated (including my own blogs, online comic strip, and course blogs). The main page includes updates about my professional development, such as announcement of conference acceptances (see me at 4Cs and C&W next year). The main page also includes a link to the online version of my CV, hosted at VisualCV.

    My plans for future development of this site include upgrading and updating. At some point, I would like to migrate this site to my own domain name rather than hosting it on WordPress. I would also like to turn the site into something like an online teaching portfolio, including a statement of teaching philosophy, course feedback pages, and example syllabi.

    You can see the site in its embryonic state here.

  6. Huh, I posted my stuff the other day, but now it’s not here … here I go again.

    Site: http://www.csdfreelance.com

    But you can skip directly to the (in)famous advertorials here: http://csdfreelance.com/advertising.htm

    This website, csdfreelance.com, is a web presence that I have had since February of 2007. Initially, it was designed as an information and portfolio site for my freelance writing, editing, and proofreading business, CSD Freelance LLC. Because the platform was already designed and tested, for this project I decided to keep the original site with a few alterations to tailor it to reflect my new academic pursuits. Aside from changing the information on the “index” page and the “about” page to reflect my new role as a student and GTA at WSU, the two major changes to the site are to the “Vita” page and the “Academic Blog” page.

    Originally, the “Vita” button on the side bar read “Experience” and linked to a page where a PDF file of my professional resume could be downloaded. Now the button links to a page where both my professional resume and my academic CV (once I have something to put on it) can be downloaded in PDF format. The former “Links” page which linked to former clients and business associates has now been converted to a link to a blog that I set up at WordPress.com (cshawdraves.wordpress.com). This blog, in the future, will be utilized as another space for academic discourse and exploration.

    It is my hope that I can retain the usefulness of the website as a marketing tool for my freelance business (for summer work, etc.) while also continuing to incorporate my academic life and pursuits. If this proves too difficult, I will eventually split the sites and keep one for academics and one for freelance.

  7. Okay, weird, now my original post is back up … could be the caffeine. I give up.

  8. Site: http://wdargument.pbwiki.com/ (password = duprey)

    Since taking Jeff’s practicum last fall (‘07), I’ve grown attached to using a wiki for teaching English 1020 at Wayne. Therefore, the wiki that I created for my two sections of English 1020 this semester will serve as my “web presence” project.

    I see the use of wikis in the classroom as assisting in professional development because it provides potential employers or reviewers in our current graduate program with a more complete understanding of the assignment descriptions, level of student interaction and collaboration, and overall design features of English 1020. Aesthetically, the site’s construction offers information about the instructor and the course that may be difficult to ascertain from simply a CV or a standard sampling of syllabi and course assignments. Also, the wiki’s visual design and multi-modal functions accommodate different learning styles. So, for these reasons, I appreciate the flexible and user-friendly features of incorporating a wiki into the classroom.

    Next semester, I’m teaching the Chicano-Boricua Studies section of English 1020. There are several changes I plan to make to the syllabus over the holiday break:

    1.) Talk with Robert Buentello (CBS Instructor) about the Academic Success Seminar he will be teaching in the winter semester, and make plans to collaborate several assignments and research agendas for these students.
    2.) Design a link on the wiki that contains more ESL-related material to better assist those students with language barrier issues.
    3.) Community-oriented learning, as the CBS program emphasizes for success, will be articulated more explicitly in my syllabus.
    4.) Incorporate more in-class time to work on assignments and projects considering how many students in the class do not have easy access to technology and work long hours to assist their family’s income.

    Overall, I feel that a wiki technologically simulates a community-base, and I hope it will help the CBS students integrate coursework, research tools, and learning objectives, thus fostering some kind of continuity between the CBS Program and the English Department.

  9. Hi all:

    http://warrenpurchasing.pbwiki.com

    My web presence is a site I made for my employer, the City of Warren Purchasing office. It recently came to our attention that some off-site departments in the City were unable to gain access to our intra-net City site, so I took the liberty of reorganizing the site and making it available for everyone working for the City, regardless of which building they might be in. The site will be password protected after the first of the year, but all employees will be able to access the site.

    While I will be unable to maintain the wiki (as I am moving out of state), I’ve trained my boss to update the site on a regular basis (our intra-net site was woefully out of date–another reason to reorganize it). In terms of aiding my professional development, the site has gotten more departments using online purchasing tools, which cut down on our work load immensely. Employees are more informed, too, so our office’s productivity has increased despite being terribly understaffed in comparison with cities of similar size and budget.

    The site is still a work in progress, though, and sections will continue to be added as time and need dictate.

Leave a Reply

